The Consorzio Barbera d’Asti e Vini del Monferrato (previously known as Consortium for the Protection of Typical Barbera d’Asti and Freisa d’Asti) was founded in 1946 by 7 wineries to ensure the circulation and renown of these wines on both domestic and foreign markets by means of distinguishing brands.

The support provided to member companies is intended to ensure high productive and qualitative standards, as well as to bring together the many facets of this wine region and promote the entire Monferrato in a consistent fashion.

La storia - Consorzio Barbera d’Asti e vini del Monferrato


400 associated wineries;
13 Designations of Origin;
4 DOCGs: Barbera d’Asti, Nizza and Ruché di Castagnole Monferrato; Terre Alfieri;
9 DOCs: Albugnano, Cortese dell’Alto Monferrato, Dolcetto d’Asti, Freisa d’Asti, Grignolino d’Asti, Loazzolo, Malvasia di Castelnuovo Don Bosco, Monferrato and Piemonte.